Pakistan Dual Nationality Agreements

In his statement, the Turkish ambassador proposed, on behalf of his government, that the two countries sign an agreement on granting dual citizenship to citizens. The latest updates to Pakistan`s dual nationality agreements are available on the Immigration and Passport Directorate`s website, which includes dual nationals from the following 19 countries. The reason is that the Pakistani government has entered into dual nationality with the following 19 countries. Pakistani nationals can benefit from a gold visa or residence regime with dual national countries with Pakistan. Turkey and Pakistan are considering an agreement to facilitate access to dual citizenship for the inhabitants of both countries, which could represent a significant increase in relations. Countries with which Pakistan has dual nationality agreements include the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Australia, Belgium, France, Iceland, Italy, Ireland, New Zealand, New Zealand, Switzerland, Jordan, Egypt, the Netherlands, Syria, Bahrain, Finland and Denmark. Dual Pakistanis are prohibited from running for public office, participating in assemblies, contesting elections or joining the Pakistani military. Since independence, the growth of Pakistani communities living abroad in the Middle East, Europe and North America has led to several changes in Pakistani nationality legislation. Dual nationality is permitted in certain circumstances:[1] Dual-national pakistanis are prohibited from running for public office[3][4] from sitting in assemblies, contesting elections or joining the Pakistani army. [5] On 20 September 2012, Pakistan`s Supreme Court disqualified 11 legislators, including Interior Minister Rehman Malik, for failing to disclose their dual nationalization when they took office. [6] The 21st Amendment to the Constitution of Pakistan would have allowed citizens of two states to hold public office and challenge elections, but the amendment was never adopted.

[7] On December 16, 2013, the Pakistani Senate unanimously passed the Civil Servants (Amendment Bill, 2013), which seeks to exclude BPS-20 officials and more from dual nationality. The bill will then be debated in the Pakistan National Assembly. If passed, it would be implemented as a law after the President of Pakistan signed it. [8] For political and other reasons, the 1.5 million[9] Afghan refugees registered in Pakistan do not obtain Pakistani citizenship, most of whom were born in Pakistan. [10] It is unfair and insulting to Pakistani nationals returning to Pakistan after dual nationality of states authorized to be tried as enemy agents of a friendly foreign state, while it allows nationals of foreign states to become equal rights representatives! Are dual Pakistani nationals third-year citizens in their own country? The Pakistani government has dual nationality agreements with the following 19 countries: United Kingdom, France, Italy, Belgium, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Finland, Denmark, Switzerland, united States of America, Sweden, Netherlands, Ireland, Bahrain, Egypt, Syria and Jordan. Nationals of these countries are not required to renounce their nationality upon acquiring Pakistani nationality. However, Pakistani citizens who are outside the country, who are not minors and who have the nationality of another country, must renounce their Pakistani citizenship. Children born abroad may retain dual nationality until the age of 21, after which they must renounce foreign nationality, or their Pakistani nationality is revoked.

The Pakistani Nationality Act governs the citizenship of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. The Constituent Assembly of Pakistan adopted on 27 April 1951.